Montana Fish Wildlife and Parks have outlined three management areas. These are areas where hunters must submit samples of the deer, elk, and moose that they kill.

On their website FWP says:

“To prevent the spread of CWD from infected areas of Montana to other parts of the state, the whole carcass, whole head, brain, or spinal column from any deer, elk, or moose harvested within a CWD Management Zone may not be removed from that Management Zone unless the animal has tested negative for CWD.

– Montana Fish Wildlife & Parks

Montana CWD Management Zones

Click on a Zone for current info:

Click here for an up-to-date CWD map.

Check out our article on Everything Hunters Need to Know About CWD in Montana for more information about what CWD is and how it affects deer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.